Silver School Faculty and Students Recognized by CSWE at Its Annual Program Meeting

Several faculty members and students from the NYU Silver School of Social Work were honored at the 2012 Council on Social Work Education Annual Program Meeting. The conference was held in Washington, DC, from November 9-12.

Mary McKay, McSilver Professor of Poverty Studies and the director of the McSilver Institute for Poverty Policy and Research, was inducted as a fellow into the American Academy of Social Work and Social Welfare (AASWSW). The Academy was formed in 2009 to recognize outstanding social work scholars and practitioners. McKay, an internationally renowned specialist on families in poverty and positive youth development, joined the Silver School in 2011.

Professor Jeane Anastas was named the 2012 Feminist Scholarship Honoree. The award recognizes a scholar who has advanced social work practice, policy, research, and education related to the intersections of gender and social justice. Anastas is the president of the National Association of Social Workers. She publishes widely in the areas of women's issues, GLBT rights, mental health, social work education, and research ethics. Her current research involves promoting secure attachment relationships between teen mothers in the foster care system and their infants.

Assistant Professor Duy Nguyen and Assistant Professor/Faculty Fellow Catherine Vu were both awarded the Okura Mental Health Scholarship in Social Work from the Asian Pacific Islander Social Work Educators Association and Okura Mental Health Leadership Foundation.

The 2011-12 Straussner/Journal of Social Work Practice in the Addictions Dissertation Award was given to Dr. Taletha Derrington for her dissertation titled Drug-Exposed Young Children and Early Intervention: What Influences Service Engagement? Professor Shulamith Lala Straussner is the founding editor of the Journal of Social Work Practice in the Addictions. Derrington received her PhD from the Heller School for Social Policy and Management at Brandeis University, where she is now a visiting scholar. In her dissertation, Derrington examined the degree of coordination between hospitals and Part C Early Intervention (EI) in order to identify and refer prenatally drug-exposed infants for family-centered developmental services, as well as the degree of engagement after referral.

Several NYU Silver students were also recognized at the conference. CSWE awarded three NYU Silver doctoral students Minority Fellowships: Jane Lee, 2012 cohort (Mentor: Professor Vincent Guilamo-Ramos); Gabriel Robles, 2011 cohort (Mentor: Guilamo-Ramos); and Latoya Small, 2010 cohort (Mentor: Professor Mary McKay). These students joined the doctoral program's first awardee, Tricia Stephens, who received the CSWE Minority Fellowship in 2011. The highly competitive fellowship seeks out dedicated students who are devoted to the development of mental health and substance abuse research in improving the social well-being of underrepresented communities.

CSWE awarded Roopa Raman, MSW '13, the Carl A. Scott Book Scholarship. This award was created in the legacy of Carl Anderson Scott, a social worker and CSWE staff member who was known for obtaining financial resources for minority faculty and students to enter social work programs. One of two recipients of this year's scholarship, Raman's name was announced as a scholarship winner at the Annual Program Meeting. Her biography was posted on CSWE's website as part of the scholarship announcement, and she was named in CSWE's e-newsletter.

Several Silver School faculty members also presented at the four-day conference, including Susan Gerbino, Yuhwa Eva Lu, James Martin, Robin Miller, Peggy Morton, Dina Rosenfeld, Judith Siegel, Sandy Speier, Shulamith Lala Straussner, Helle Thorning, and Carol Tosone.