Silver Alumna Carmen Collado Elected Chair of New York State Licensing Board for Social Work

Carmen Collado (MSW '92) Elected Chair of New York Social Work Licensing Board and Appointed To AWSB Task Force

Silver School Alumna Carmen Collado (MSW ’92), was elected chair of the New York State Licensing Board for Social Work, administered by the State Education Department. Ms. Collado's two-year term will begin in January 2016; she previously served as Vice-Chair of the fourteen-member board from 2014 to 2015.

The Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) also appointed Ms. Collado to its Mobility Task Force. The ASWB convened the Mobility Task Force to develop and implement a mobility and portability plan for licensed social workers. The task force will analyze mobility models for other health care professions, and search for regulatory commonalities that will enable greater collaboration between and among jurisdictions. The ASWB Mobility Task Force brings together social work and regulatory professionals from across the United States to develop a framework for the nation’s mental health system that will:

  • establish consistent and effective national public health and safety protocols
  • promote cooperation and service integration throughout the health and mental health professions
  • support emergency responders and volunteers when they travel outside of their licensed jurisdiction following disasters
  • foster greater transparency and streamline the process for professionals to obtain licensure credentials when they relocate to continue serving the public with minimal disruption of needed services

Ms. Collado is a proud Alumna of the NYU Silver School of Social Work and Chief Networking and Relationship Officer at ICL, an organization serving individuals and families affected by or at risk of mental illness or developmental disabilities.

The Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) is the nonprofit organization composed of and owned by the social work regulatory boards and colleges of 49 U.S. states, the District of Columbia, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and all 10 Canadian provinces.